2022 Varietal Winners

Top Rated: Cabernet Shiraz

By The Tasting Team
Cabernet shiraz blends played a defining role in the history of Australian red winemaking and deserve to be judged outside the context of other cabernet blends, prompting us to introduce this category for the first time. South Australia’s deep history with the blend makes it the dominant force. One of the long-standing champions of this historic blend, Yalumba The Caley reincarnates the great Coonawarra/Barossa blends of the past in a sublime and truly classic flagship – a near unanimous winner in our final taste-off. Find out more about our Cabernet Shiraz of the Year below.

2016 Yalumba the Caley Cabernet Shiraz

Blockquote Section Icon

*This is an edited extract from the 2022 Halliday Wine Companion, with reviews by Jane Faulkner, James Halliday, Erin Larkin, Tony Love, Ned Goodwin MW, Jeni Port and chief editor Tyson Stelzer.

Get your hands on Australia's most comprehensive wine guide here – and at all good bookstores.